Article published Apr 9, 2006
N. Central dominates All-Parish
By Tom Dodge

The North Central Hurricanes and Lady Hurricanes swept top honors in the 2006 All-St. Landry basketball selections.
The teams were selected by the Daily World sports staff and each nominee had to earn a spot on their respective All-District teams.
North Central girls head coach
Vanessa Taylor was named the girls parish Coach of the Year after directing the Lady Hurricanes to the Sweet 16 semifinals for the second time in school history.
Lady Hurricane senior
Donisha Duruisseau averaged 20.3 points per game in leading North Central to a 25-3 record and a return trip to Hammond after playing there as an eighth grader for North Central.
Acadiana Prep sophomore Laquawanda Sippio also reconized in the top player nominations as she averaged 18.0 points per game and helped lead the Lady Eagles' turnaround season and a first round playoff win.
Other first team selections include Northwest junior Brittany Sonn (16.1 ppg); North Central junior Latasha Tanner (18 ppg) and Opelousas Catholic sophomore Amanda Fontenot (15.1 ppg).
North Central boys head coach
Butch Fontenot was named the boys parish Coach of the Year after the 23-8 Hurricanes advanced to the Class 1-A quarterfinals and fell just three points shy of the Top 28 in a 79-76 loss to Southern Lab.
Hurricane senior
Errick Coleman was named the boys MVP as he averaged 19.5 points per game and was selected to the Class 1-A All-State team.
Other first team selections include Northwest senior Class 3-A All Stater Benjamin Guillory (16.8 ppg); North Central senior All-State honorable mention Nason Lamb (19.0 ppg); Opelousas Catholic senior Ben Stelly (17.4 ppg) and Port Barre freshman Torry Griffin who averaged 23.3 points per game in District 7-2A.
2006 All- St. Landry Parish
First Team
Donisha Duruisseau, North Central Sr. 20.3
Laquawanda Sippio, Acad Prep So. 18.0
Amanda Fontenot, Opel. Catholic So. 15.1
Brittany Sonn, Northwest Jr. 16.1
Latasha Tanner, North Central Jr. 18.0
Most Valuable Player - Donisha Duruisseau, North Central
Coach of the Year - Vanessa Taylor, North Central
Second Team
Appolonia Babineaux, Eunice n/a 13.0
Megan Wiberley, St. Edmund Sr. 13.5
Orelia Bernard, Beau Chene Jr. 12.0
Sharaeba Chenier, Opelousas Jr. 11.2
Triston Sonn, Northwest Jr. 15.0
Honorable Mention
BEAU CHENE - Jarina Guilbeaux; EUNICE - Jada Thomas; OPELOUSAS - Brandi Semien; NORTH CENTRAL - Britni Rue, Appollania Chambers; NORTHWEST - Courtney LaFleur; ST. EDMUND - Jennifer Powers, Leah Andrus; ACADIANA PREP - Jamie Arthurlee, Ke'Alana Veal; OPELOUSAS CATHOLIC - Dana Hayes, Amber Guillory; WESTMINSTER - Sarah Brown, Brooke Ardoin.
First Team
Benjamin Guillory, Northwest Sr. 16.8
Errick Coleman, North Central Sr. 19.5
Nason Lamb, North Central Sr. 19.0
Ben Stelly, Opelousas Catholic Sr. 17.4
Torry Griffin, Port Barre Fr. 23.3
Player of the Year: Errick Coleman, North Central
Coach of the Year: Butch Fontenot, North Central
Second Team
Randall Bulliard, Westminster Sr. 17.0
Chaz Pickney, Port Barre 8th 17.0
Derrick Coleman, N. Central Sr. 13.0
Carlos Davis, Beau Chene Sr. 15.0
Keenan Thomas, Northwest Jr. 13.9
Honorable mention:
PORT BARRE - Everette Martin; BEAU CHENE - Alonzo Walker; OPELOUSAS - Marcus Kennerson, Kotie Gradnigo; NORTHWEST Matthew James, Justin Smith; EUNICE - Jermaine Guillory; OPELOUSAS CATHOLIC - Phillipe Inhern, Jack Ryan, D'Andre Leday; ST. EMUND - Travis Vidrine, Ike Lafleur; ACADIANA PREP - Corey Thomas, J.J. Thomas; NORTH CENTRAL - Issac Dixon. Lennox Bates; WESTMINSTER - John Myers, Mike Donahue.